top of page

Fox Eyes & Asian American Beauty

We've all seen or at least heard of the Fox Eye trend where influencers use smoky shadows and liners then pose pulling their temples to elongate their eyes. While some say it's just makeup, some say otherwise.

 

Preface: I will be using the term Asian American because some are unfamiliar with the term AAPI (Asian American Pacific Islander) and I personally identify as Asian American. Additionally, Asian Americans have a range of eye shapes; I'm just speaking from personal experience and personal viewpoint as someone who has monolids and is East Asian.


History: Growing Up Asian American in Rural Pennsylvania


Growing up as one in two or the only Asian American in classrooms and community events, it was isolating. My brother and I endured kids pulling their eyes back at us on the school bus, kids at summer camp singing "Chinese, Japanese, welcome to America" while squinting, having my eyes called "chinky," and many other experiences that all too many can relate to. Though these gestures were not rooted in hate but ignorance, they still linger in my mind all these years later. So now when I see many non-Asian influencers posing in a similar fashion, pulling their eyes back and squinting, it hits too close to home.

I have grown thick skin from all of these experiences. I have become intolerant of these blatantly racist comments and gestures and stand my ground if I come across something along these lines. But the little girl inside of me hurts when I see a feature that I loathed for so long being "celebrated" and sought after now through online trends. To many the Fox Eye makeup itself is not harmful; it's the gesture that many have used to "highlight" the makeup that is.

"So while desiring elongated eyes may seem complimentary towards Asians, it is also dismissive of the traumas many of them have endured for that very facial feature." Kim Duong
 

I never had an Asian American role model to look up to, so learning how to do makeup was a shot in the dark. The first time I went to a makeup counter at the mall the artist didn't know how to approach monolids or East Asian face structures. The makeup and shadowing looked awkward on me. So I took to the internet. At first I was watching white influencers' cat eye tutorials and contouring routines. When I tried it out on myself it looked the same as the makeup artists' work. So I grabbed a makeup wipe and kept searching.

 

Makeup: My Learnings


When I came across Jenn Im's everyday makeup tutorial in eighth grade everything changed. I found tutorials for features like mine. Nearly six years later I've grown tremendously and want to share the tips and tricks I've learned along the way.


Note: these techniques personally work on my face/skin but may not work for yours. We're all different and we're all beautiful!

use a black/dark brown eyeshadow on top liquid eyeliner to set it - monolids/hooded lids may smudge liner

when applying eyeshadow keep your eyes open so the shadow is always visible

draw the liner wings at a subtle angle - I found it to be more flattering on my monolids

lightly contouring the top of the nose bridge between the eyes gives more definition

apply highlighter on apples of your cheeks when smiling - gives a natural glow

after applying highlighter go over the area lightly with a blush brush - skin looks smooth and blended

contour cheekbones using blush

Recommended Products

HEROINE MAKE Smooth Liquid Eyeliner (Brown) - very thin liner, great for monolids

THE FACE SHOP Mono Cube Eyeshadow Glitter (OR01 Pina Colada Orange) - leave beautiful sheen

THE FACE SHOP Volume Up Tint (04 Orange) - very flattering on skin with warmer undertones

 

Other Resources


Asian American Influencers


Articles

138 views
E6E22E88-0A1C-4BE9-AEA0-6AC268EDCD70.jpg

Thanks for Reading!

Hopefully my writing has touched you in some way and left you feeling inspired, invigorated, hopeful, or anything in between. Feel free to reach out if you have any questions or want to chat!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page